GAME DEVELOPMENT

Choosing a game engine

Choosing a game engine

GameDev

Choosing a game engine GameDev

A game engine or game platform is a development environment with settings, configurations, and ready-made tools that greatly simplifies the production process in different programming languages. It may include a graphics rendering engine that is compatible with various import formats, a physics engine that simulates the laws of physics in a virtual world, artificial intelligence, a sound engine, and many other useful features.

Despite the fact that today there are many game engines, it is simply impossible to choose the best or the worst among them. Rather, each technology is designed to solve specific problems, and the final choice depends on the specifics of a particular project.

Most often, the appropriate gaming platform is determined by technical specialists, since this issue requires deep knowledge and understanding of the context. In this article we are talking about the most common engines and their features, which will help you figure out the details yourself and make the best choice for the future game.

Unity

Gaming

Unity Gaming

Unity is a multi-platform engine that spans many gaming platforms and operating systems. It creates mobile games, projects for PC and consoles, such as PlayStation and Xbox. It contains many components for working with graphics, object physics, sound and templates, which greatly simplifies the production process.

An interesting fact: according to statistics, more than 50% of mobile games run on Unity. Equally important, it is suitable for developing games of various genres, including shooters, RPGs, racing, platformers, and more. That is, this engine is universal.

Strengths of Unity

Strengths of Unity

(Ua) Двигун має велику бібліотеку ассетів і плагінів, які можна імпортувати та експортувати, додаючи в проєкт цілі заготівлі рівнів, персонажів, патернів поведінки штучного інтелекту та інших елементів. І це навіть без програмування, що значно прискорює випуск гри. Багато асет розповсюджуються безкоштовно.

Unity підтримує два движки для відтворення графіки: DirectX, який використовується в Windows та інтерфейсах із закритим кодом, і OpenGL – для всіх інших платформ.

In addition, it works with almost all rendering effects, including innovative real-time ray tracing technology. The forces of the engine can implement the physics of solids and tissues, complex animations and collisions between objects.

Another important advantage of Unity is that while the project brings the publisher a profit of less than $100,000 per year, the engine is completely free.

Unreal Engine

Innovation

Unreal Engine Innovation

UE was created for first-person shooters, but the capabilities of the engine have grown rapidly, and now AAA-level projects of various genres are being developed on it – MMORPG, fighting games, role-playing, stealth and many others.

Unreal Engine is so good that some publishers are even abandoning their own engines in favor of it. For example, recently the CD Projekt RED studio, which created the legendary The Witcher, announced that the fourth game of the franchise is being developed on UE instead of the “native” REDengine. They explained this choice by the fact that it will allow creating a virtual world in the shortest possible time and save the studio from a large number of technical problems.

The Unreal Engine is based on the C++ programming language, which makes it possible to create games on it for various platforms, including:

  • Windows;
  • Mac OS;
  • Linux;
  • Xbox;
  • PlayStation.

Recently, mobile platforms have become one of the priority areas for game development at UE, and developers have the opportunity to create projects for iOS and Android as well.

It is important that thanks to the use of a modular system of dependent components, it is possible to transfer the game from one platform to another in a relatively short time, which is important for developing projects.

Strengths of Unreal Engine

Strengths of Unreal Engine

Among the main advantages that distinguish the engine from other technologies, it is worth highlighting three:

  • A complete set of tools out of the box. To get started, simply install and run the development environment – all the necessary functions will already be in the UE.
  • Using C++. The language gives programmers the ability to manually manage memory allocation, which allows them to “squeeze the maximum” out of the hardware and maximize the performance of the project in the final stage.
  • Visual scripting. Thanks to the use of the Blueprints Visual Scripting system, you can create games or individual elements even without programming, which significantly speeds up the release of the game.

In addition, the engine has many assets, and allows you to control not only the mechanics, but also the graphics of the game.

Since 2015, Unreal Engine has become shareware. As long as the project’s income does not exceed $3,000 per quarter, there is no need to pay, otherwise the publisher must pay a royalty of 5%.

CryEngine

Development

CryEngine Development

The engine was created by the German company Crytek for the popular shooter Far Cry, and had a huge impact on the game development industry in the open world, and was the first to make it possible to freely move across a vast territory without downloading data.

CryEngine supports many advanced technologies, including DirectX 12, Vulkan API, VR, C# scripting, real-time pixel-by-pixel lighting, specular surfaces, fog, detailed textures, and realistic physics. Thus, it makes it possible to create projects with almost photorealistic graphics. With the right approach, projects created on it exceed in quality even games on Unreal Engine 4 or Unity.

Thanks to the functional realtime renderer, CryEngine gives developers the opportunity to instantly test the newly created level or scene, which is very convenient and eliminates the appearance of global bugs.

Another important advantage of the engine is its proprietary ray tracing technology. It runs on AMD and Nvidia graphics cards and does not require the power of RTX graphics chips.

The CryEngine website has a large library of proven and reliable assets that can be used in the development of new projects to increase the speed of production.

Game development in AVADA MEDIA

AVADA MEDIA

Game development in AVADA MEDIA AVADA MEDIA

AVADA MEDIA works with these and many other game engines. We will help you choose the best technology for your project, which will fully satisfy its needs. If you have any questions, please contact us by filling out the form below.

Fresh works

We create space projects

Fresh works

The best confirmation of our qualifications and professionalism are the stories of the success of our clients and the differences in their business before and after working with us.

Our clients

What they say about us

Our clients What they say about us

Successful projects are created only by the team

Our team

Successful projects
are created only by the team Our team

(Ru) Photo 11
(Ru) Photo 10
Photo 9
Photo 8
Photo 7
Photo 6
Photo 5
Photo 4
Photo 3
Photo 2
Photo 1
(Ru) Photo 12

Contact the experts

Have a question?

Contact the experts Have a question?

+
@
I accept User agreement and I give my consent to processing of my personal data
Personal data processing agreement

The user, filling out an application on the website https://avada-media.ua/ (hereinafter referred to as the Site), agrees to the terms of this Consent for the processing of personal data (hereinafter referred to as the Consent) in accordance with the Law of Ukraine “On the collection of personal data”. Acceptance of the offer of the Consent is the sending of an application from the Site or an order from the Operator by telephone of the Site.

The user gives his consent to the processing of his personal data with the following conditions:

1. This Consent is given to the processing of personal data both without and using automation tools.
2. Consent applies to the following information: name, phone, email.

3. Consent to the processing of personal data is given in order to provide the User with an answer to the application, further conclude and fulfill obligations under the contracts, provide customer support, inform about services that, in the opinion of the Operator, may be of interest to the User, conduct surveys and market research.

4. The User grants the Operator the right to carry out the following actions (operations) with personal data: collection, recording, systematization, accumulation, storage, clarification (updating, changing), use, depersonalization, blocking, deletion and destruction, transfer to third parties, with the consent of the subject of personal data and compliance with measures to protect personal data from unauthorized access.

5. Personal data is processed by the Operator until all necessary procedures are completed. Also, processing can be stopped at the request of the User by e-mail: info@avada-media.com.ua

6. The User confirms that by giving Consent, he acts freely, by his will and in his interest.

7. This Consent is valid indefinitely until the termination of the processing of personal data for the reasons specified in clause 5 of this document.

Join Us

Send CV

+
@
I accept User agreement and I give my consent to processing of my personal data
Cookies
Please allow cookies to be more efficient with your site.

GAME DEVELOPMENT

Выбор движка для игры

Выбор движка для игры

GameDev

Выбор движка для игры GameDev

Игровой движок или платформа игры — это среда разработки с настройками, конфигурациями и готовыми инструментами, существенно упрощающая процесс продакшена на разных языках программирования. Она может включать механизм рендеринга графики, совместимый с разными форматами импорта, физический движок, моделирующий законы физики в виртуальном мире, искусственный интеллект, звуковой движок и множество других полезных функций.

Несмотря на то, что сегодня существует множество игровых движков, выбрать среди них лучший или худший — просто невозможно. Скорее, каждая технология предназначена для решения определенных задач, и окончательный выбор зависит от специфики конкретного проекта.

Чаще всего подходящую игровую платформу определяют технические специалисты, поскольку этот вопрос требует глубоких знаний и понимания контекста. В этой статье говорим про самые распространенные движки и их особенности, что поможет вам самостоятельно разобраться в деталях и сделать наилучший выбор для будущего гейма.

Unity

Gaming

Unity Gaming

Unity — это мультиплатформенный движок, охватывающий множество игровых платформ и операционных систем. На нем создают мобильные игры, проекты для PC и консолей, например PlayStation и Xbox. Он содержит множество компонентов для работы с графикой, физикой объектов, звуком и шаблонами, что значительно упрощает процесс продакшена.

Интересный факт: по статистике, на Unity работают более 50% мобильных игр. Не менее важно то, что он подходит для разработки игр разных жанров, включая шутеры, RPG, гонки, платформеры и прочее. То есть, этот движок универсален.

Сильные стороны Unity

Сильные стороны Unity

Движок обладает обширной библиотекой ассетов и плагинов, которые можно импортировать и экспортировать, добавляя в проект целые заготовки уровней, персонажей, паттернов поведения искусственного интеллекта и других элементов. И все это даже без программирования, что значительно ускоряет выпуск игры. Многие ассеты распространяются бесплатно.

Unity поддерживает два движка для отрисовки графики: DirectX, который используется в Windows и интерфейсах с закрытым кодом, и OpenGL — для всех остальных платформ.

Кроме того, он работает практически со всеми эффектами рендеринга, в том числе с инновационной технологией трассировки лучей в реальном времени. Силами движка можно реализовать физику твердых тел и тканей, сложные анимации и коллизию между объектами.

Еще одно немаловажное преимущество Unity заключается в том, что пока проект приносит издателю прибыль менее $100 тысяч в год, движок поставляется полностью бесплатно.

Unreal Engine

Innovation

Unreal Engine Innovation

UE создавался для шутеров от первого лица, но возможности движка быстро выросли, и сейчас на нем разрабатываются проекты ААА-уровня самых разных жанров — MMORPG, файтинги, ролевые, стелсы и многие другие.

Unreal Engine настолько хорош, что некоторые издатели даже отказываются от собственных движков в его пользу. Например, недавно студия CD Projekt RED, создавшая легендарного «Ведьмака» объявила о том, что четвертая игра франшизы разрабатывается на UE вместо «родного» REDengine. Такой выбор они объяснили тем, что это позволит создать виртуальный мир в кратчайшие сроки и избавит студию от большого количества технических проблем.

В основе Unreal Engine лежит язык программирования C++, благодаря чему на нем можно создавать игры для разных платформ, включая:

  • Windows;
  • Mac OS;
  • Linux;
  • Xbox;
  • PlayStation.

В последнее время одним из приоритетных направлений геймдева на UE стали мобильные платформы, и у разработчиков появилась возможность создавать проекты также для iOS и Android.

Важно, что благодаря использованию модульной системы зависимых компонентов есть возможность переносить игру с одной платформы на другую в сравнительно короткие сроки, что немаловажно для развивающихся проектов.

Сильные стороны Unreal Engine

Сильные стороны Unreal Engine

Среди основных преимуществ, выгодно выделяющих движок на фоне других технологий стоит выделить три:

  • Полный набор инструментов «из коробки». Для начала работы достаточно просто установить и запустить среду разработки — все необходимые функции уже будут в UE.
  • Использование С++. Язык дает программистам возможность вручную управлять выделением памяти, что позволяет «выжать максимум» из железа и максимально повысить производительность проекта в финальной стадии.
  • Визуальное создание скриптов. Благодаря использованию системы Blueprints Visual Scripting, создавать игры или отдельные элементы можно даже без программирования, что в разы ускоряет выпуск игры.

Кроме того, движок обладает множество ассетов, и дает возможность контролировать не только механику, но и графику игры.

С 2015 года Unreal Engine стал условно бесплатным. Пока доход проекта не превышает $3000 в квартал — платить не нужно, в противном нужно издатель обязан уплатить роялти в размере 5%.

CryEngine

Development

CryEngine Development

Движок был создан немецкой компанией Crytek для популярного шутера Far Cry, и оказал огромное влияние на индустрию геймдева в области открытого мира, и первым дал возможность свободно перемещаться по огромной территории без подгрузки данных.

CryEngine поддерживает множество передовых технологий, в том числе DirectX 12, Vulkan API, VR, создание скриптов на языке C#, попиксельное освещение в режиме реального времени, поверхности с бликами, туман, детализированные текстуры и реалистичную физику. Таким образом он дает возможность создавать проекты с практически фотореалистичной графикой. При правильном подходе, созданные на нем проекты превышают по качеству даже игры на Unreal Engine 4 или Unity.

Благодаря функциональному realtime renderer, CryEngine дает разработчикам возможность мгновенно протестировать только что созданный уровень или сцену, что очень удобно и исключает появление глобальных багов.

Еще одно важное преимущество движка заключается в его собственной технологии трассировки лучей. Она работает на видеокартах AMD и Nvidia, и не требует мощности графических чипов RTX.

На сайте CryEngine собрана большая библиотека проверенных и надежных ассетов, которые можно использовать при разработке новых проектов, чтобы повысить скорость продакшена.

Разработка игр в AVADA MEDIA

AVADA MEDIA

Разработка игр в AVADA MEDIA AVADA MEDIA

AVADA MEDIA работает с этими и многими другими игровыми движками. Мы поможем подобрать оптимальную технологию для вашего проекта, которая полностью удовлетворит его потребности. Если у вас остались вопросы, свяжитесь с нами, заполнив форму ниже.

Свежие работы

Создаем космические проекты

Свежие работы

Лучшим подтверждением нашей квалификации и профессионализма являются истории успеха наших клиентов и различия в их бизнесе до и после сотрудничества с нами.

Наши клиенты

Что о нас говорят

Наши клиенты Что о нас говорят

Успешные проекты создаются только командой

Наша команда

Успешные проекты
создаются только командой Наша команда

Photo 11
Photo 10
Photo 9
Photo 8
Photo 7
Photo 6
Photo 5
Photo 4
Photo 3
Photo 2
Photo 1
Photo 12

Свяжитесь с экспертами

Появились вопросы?

Свяжитесь с экспертами Появились вопросы?

+
@
Согласие на обработку персональных данных

Пользователь, оформляя заявку на сайте https://avada-media.ua/ (далее – Сайт), соглашается с условиями настоящего Согласия на обработку персональных данных (далее — Согласие) в соответствии с Законом Украины «Про захист персональних даних». Принятием (акцептом) оферты Согласия является отправка заявки с Сайта или заказ у Оператора по телефонам Сайта.

Пользователь дает свое согласие на обработку своих персональных данных со следующими условиями:

  1. Данное Согласие дается на обработку персональных данных как без, так и с использованием средств автоматизации.
  2. Согласие распространяется на следующую информацию: ФИО, телефон, электронная почта.
  3. Согласие на обработку персональных данных дается в целях предоставления Пользователю ответа на заявку, дальнейшего заключения и выполнения обязательств по договорам, осуществления клиентской поддержки, информирования об услугах, которые, по мнению Оператора, могут представлять интерес для Пользователя, проведения опросов и маркетинговых исследований.
  4. Пользователь, предоставляет Оператору право осуществлять следующие действия (операции) с персональными данными: сбор, запись, систематизация, накопление, хранение, уточнение (обновление, изменение), использование, обезличивание, блокирование, удаление и уничтожение, передача третьим лицам, с согласия субъекта персональных данных и соблюдением мер, обеспечивающих защиту персональных данных от несанкционированного доступа.
  5. Персональные данные обрабатываются Оператором до завершения всех необходимых процедур. Также обработка может быть прекращена по запросу Пользователя на электронную почту: info@avada-media.com.ua
  6. Пользователь подтверждает, что, давая Согласие, он действует свободно, своей волей и в своем интересе.
  7. Настоящее Согласие действует бессрочно до момента прекращения обработки персональных данных по причинам, указанным в п.5 данного документа.

Присоединяйся к нам

Отправить резюме

+
@

Свяжитесь с нами любым удобным для Вас способом:

+ 38 (097) 036 29 32
Файлы cookies
Пожалуйста, разрешите использование cookies для более эффективной работы с сайтом