Gamedev

Development of game servers

Development of game servers

Gamedev

Development of game servers Gamedev

The demand for multiplayer games is growing rapidly, these include shooters, MOBAs, RPGs and other popular genres. Such projects are characterized by the interaction of gamers in real time, which means they need powerful servers that can provide the game with the necessary computing resources.

In this article, we will talk about the types of game servers and the main stages of their development necessary to ensure a stable gaming experience.

Game server tasks

Game servers

Game server tasks Game servers

To ensure the stable operation of a multiplayer game, the server must solve a number of basic tasks:

  • Scaling depending on the traffic used. Gamers should have a positive gaming experience even during hours of high server load. This issue can be solved by using elastic computing solutions, which make it possible to increase the power when the players are more active, and reduce it if the traffic has decreased. In addition, this allows publishers to reduce costs, as they only pay for the resources that are actually used.
  • Low latency. The period of time during which a data packet is sent from the user’s device through the network to the server and returns back is called ping. Accordingly, the lower it is, the more sensitively the interface reacts to the actions of the gamer. For some genres of games, even an extra fraction of a second can determine victory or defeat, so this question cannot be ignored. To minimize latency, you need to place game servers where the players are directly located.
  • Fault tolerance. When designing and hosting servers, it is necessary to provide for the likely failure of equipment so that this does not affect the gaming experience of users. To do this, there are special technical solutions that allow you to automatically replace hosts in which a failure has been detected and deploy in availability zones.
Development of game servers

Types of game servers

Game Development

Types of game servers Game Development

There are two most common approaches to deploying multiplayer game servers. Let’s consider how they differ, and which format will be preferable for new projects.

The first type is local game servers

Local servers hosted by players on their own devices is a fairly common approach to implementing multiplayer games. For example, it is he who is used in the popular Minecraft project. Its essence is that a person can organize a game session on his own computer, to which other users can join over the network. That is, the server in this case is the device of the gamer himself.

Technically, it looks like the developer is allowing the game to run a physical server on another device, and broadcast information to the players about available co-op play. This provides some benefits:

  • Players get a high level of control over the server, and can implement various game mods, depending on what the developer allows.
  • No running costs. Since the player hosts the server on his local computer, the developer does not bear the costs associated with its launch and maintenance.
  • Simple scaling. Developers do not need to worry about how many game servers they need and in what regions they should be placed to meet the needs of users.

The second type is cloud game servers

This type of servers is the most in demand and is used in projects that organize competitive events. For example, the creators of Call of Duty, Fornite and League of Legends preferred it. Their main feature is that they are hosted on remote cloud servers that are available every day 24 hours a day and provide stable access to the gameplay.

When using cloud servers, developers get maximum control over the gameplay and can track exactly how gamers interact with each other. It also means that the creators of the project can release updates that affect all users, which allows them to easily manage in-game dynamics and control the integrity of the gameplay.

At the same time, developers have additional operating costs, and they are fully responsible for the occurrence of problems and failures in the network. However, this approach is the most preferred and in demand among the players.

However, this approach is associated with certain problems. For example, developers cannot control the in-game actions of players, which causes the problem of using third-party programs and cheat codes. This can be a problem when organizing competitive events. In addition, if the host computer is turned off, the game process will be interrupted for all users who participated in it, which can lead to a negative experience.

Development of game servers

Server deployment steps

Server development

Server deployment steps Server development

The launch of cloud servers for multiplayer games can be divided into several main stages:

  • The choice of managed hosting that meets the requirements for hosting game servers. It is important that developers have a high level of control and access to virtual machines, which will allow fine-tuning of parameters to ensure a quality gaming experience.
  • Designing the selection of players. This is an important element of multiplayer games, and allows you to form in-game teams based on the level of gamers, their skills and other parameters. To implement it, you need to select a fully managed and customizable service that can be integrated on the selected server.
  • Choosing a solution with internal services. A REST API is often used to manage player identities and data, match requests, and other important functions when connecting to an internal service. To minimize the volume of work operations, you can, for example, implement the backend using serverless technologies or use a container approach.
  • Creation of load testing and monitoring capabilities that will provide maximum transparency of the processes that occur on the game server. To do this, you need, among other things, to collect various metrics and collect logs. This data will be useful for identifying problems on the server and finding points where performance can be improved.

Development of game servers in AVADA MEDIA

AVADA MEDIA

Development of game servers in AVADA MEDIA AVADA MEDIA

The server provides gamers with uninterrupted access to game content, so its deployment should be given no less attention than the production of the game itself. The AVADA MEDIA team has practical experience in creating and configuring servers for games of various sizes. We will ensure the stable operation of your project.

Fresh works

We create space projects

Fresh works

The best confirmation of our qualifications and professionalism are the stories of the success of our clients and the differences in their business before and after working with us.

Our clients

What they say about us

Our clients What they say about us

Successful projects are created only by the team

Our team

Successful projects
are created only by the team Our team

(Ru) Photo 11
(Ru) Photo 10
Photo 9
Photo 8
Photo 7
Photo 6
Photo 5
Photo 4
Photo 3
Photo 2
Photo 1
(Ru) Photo 12

Contact the experts

Have a question?

Contact the experts Have a question?

+
@
I accept User agreement and I give my consent to processing of my personal data
Personal data processing agreement

The user, filling out an application on the website https://avada-media.ua/ (hereinafter referred to as the Site), agrees to the terms of this Consent for the processing of personal data (hereinafter referred to as the Consent) in accordance with the Law of Ukraine “On the collection of personal data”. Acceptance of the offer of the Consent is the sending of an application from the Site or an order from the Operator by telephone of the Site.

The user gives his consent to the processing of his personal data with the following conditions:

1. This Consent is given to the processing of personal data both without and using automation tools.
2. Consent applies to the following information: name, phone, email.

3. Consent to the processing of personal data is given in order to provide the User with an answer to the application, further conclude and fulfill obligations under the contracts, provide customer support, inform about services that, in the opinion of the Operator, may be of interest to the User, conduct surveys and market research.

4. The User grants the Operator the right to carry out the following actions (operations) with personal data: collection, recording, systematization, accumulation, storage, clarification (updating, changing), use, depersonalization, blocking, deletion and destruction, transfer to third parties, with the consent of the subject of personal data and compliance with measures to protect personal data from unauthorized access.

5. Personal data is processed by the Operator until all necessary procedures are completed. Also, processing can be stopped at the request of the User by e-mail: info@avada-media.com.ua

6. The User confirms that by giving Consent, he acts freely, by his will and in his interest.

7. This Consent is valid indefinitely until the termination of the processing of personal data for the reasons specified in clause 5 of this document.

Join Us

Send CV

+
@
I accept User agreement and I give my consent to processing of my personal data
Cookies
Please allow cookies to be more efficient with your site.

Дана версія веб-сайту завантажена за замовчуванням для користувачів в Україні. Якщо ви хочете повернутися на попередню версію веб-сайту натисніть "Повернутись назад", для того щоб залишитися натисніть "Закрити". Натискаючи "Повернутись назад" або "Закрити" ви погоджуєтесь із Політикою використання файлів Cookies

Gamedev

Разработка игровых серверов

Разработка игровых серверов

Gamedev

Разработка игровых серверов Gamedev

Востребованность многопользовательских игр стремительно растет, к ним относятся шутеры, MOBA, RPG и другие популярные жанры. Для таких проектов характерно взаимодействие геймеров в режиме реального времени, а значит они нуждаются в мощных серверах, способных обеспечить игру нужными вычислительными ресурсами.

 

В этой статье поговорим про типы игровых серверов и основные этапы их разработки, необходимых для обеспечения стабильного игрового процесса.

Задачи игровых серверов

Game servers

Задачи игровых серверов Game servers

Для обеспечения стабильной работы многопользовательской игры, сервер должен решать ряд основных задач:

  • Масштабирование в зависимости от используемого трафика. Геймеры должны получать положительный игровой опыт даже в часы высокой нагрузки на сервера. Этот вопрос можно решить путем использования эластичных вычислительных решений, которые дают возможность увеличивать мощность при повышенной активности игроков, и снижать если трафик сократился. Кроме того, это позволяет издателям снизить затраты, поскольку они платят только за те ресурсы которые реально задействованы.
  • Низкая задержка. Промежуток времени, за который пакет данных отправляется с устройства пользователя через сеть до сервера и возвращается обратно называется пингом. Соответственно, чем он ниже, тем более чутко интерфейс реагирует на действия геймера. Для некоторых жанров игр даже лишняя доля секунды может определить победу или поражение, поэтому этот вопрос нельзя игнорировать. Чтобы минимизировать задержку, нужно размещать игровые сервера там, где непосредственно находятся игроки.
  • Отказоустойчивость. При разработке и размещении серверов нужно предусмотреть вероятный выход оборудования из строя, чтобы это не повлияло на игровой опыт пользователей. Для этого существуют специальные технические решения, позволяющие автоматически заменять хосты, в которых был выявлен сбой и выполнять развертывание в зонах доступности.
Разработка игровых серверов

Типы игровых серверов

Game Development

Типы игровых серверов Game Development

Существует два наиболее распространенных подхода к развертыванию многопользовательских игровых серверов. Рассмотрим чем они отличаются, и какой формат будет предпочтительнее для новых проектов.

Первый тип — локальные игровые сервера

Локальные сервера, размещенные игроками на собственных устройствах — это довольно распространенный подход к реализации многопользовательских игр. Например, именно он используется в популярном проекте Minecraft. Его суть в том, что человек может организовать сеанс игры на своем собственном компьютере, к которому по сети могут присоединиться другие пользователи. То есть, сервером в этом случае выступает устройство самого геймера.

Технически это выглядит так, что разработчик позволяет игре запускать физический сервер на другом устройстве, и транслировать игрокам информацию о доступной совместной игре. Это дает некоторые преимущества:

  • Игроки получают высокий контроль над сервером, и могут внедрять различные игровые моды, в зависимости от того, что разрешает разработчик.
  • Нет эксплуатационных расходов. Так как игрок размещает сервер на своем локальном компьютере, разработчик не несет затраты связанные с его запуском и обслуживанием.
  • Простое масштабирование. Разработчикам не нужно заботиться о том, сколько нужно игровых серверов и в каких регионах их размещать для удовлетворения потребностей пользователей.

Второй тип — облачные игровые сервера

Такой тип серверов является наиболее востребованным, и используется в проектах, организовывающих соревновательные мероприятия. Например, ему отдали предпочтение создатели Call of Duty, Fornite и League of Legends. Их основная особенность в том, что они размещаются на удаленных облачных серверах, которые доступны ежедневно 24 часа в сутки и обеспечивают стабильный доступ к игровому процессу.

При использовании облачных серверов разработчики получают максимальный контроль над игровым процессом и могут отследить, как именно геймеры взаимодействуют между собой. Также это означает, что создатели проекта могут выпускать обновления, затрагивающие всех пользователей, что позволяет им с легкостью управлять внутриигровой динамикой и контролировать честность геймплея.

При этом у разработчиков появляются дополнительные эксплуатационные расходы, и на них лежит полная ответственность за возникновение проблем и сбоев в сети. Однако именно такой подход является наиболее предпочтительным и востребованным среди игроков.

Однако, такой подход сопряжен с определенными проблемами. Например, разработчики не могут контролировать внутриигровые действия игроков, из-за чего появляется проблема использования посторонних программ и чит-кодов. Это может стать проблемой при организации соревновательных мероприятий. Кроме того, в случае отключения компьютера, который выступает хостом, игровой процесс прерывается у всех пользователей, которые в нем участвовали, что может стать причиной негативного опыта.

Разработка игровых серверов

Этапы развертывания серверов

Server development

Этапы развертывания серверов Server development

Запуск облачных серверов для многопользовательских игр можно разделить на несколько основных этапов:

  • Выбор управляемого хостинга, отвечающего требованиям к размещению игровых серверов. Важно, чтобы у разработчиков был высокий уровень контроля и доступ к виртуальным машинам, что позволит выполнять тонкую настройку параметров для обеспечения качественного игрового процесса.
  • Проектирование подбора игроков. Это важный элемент многопользовательских игр, и позволяет формировать внутриигровые команды на основании уровня геймеров, их скиллов и других параметров. Для его реализации необходимо подобрать полностью управляемый и настраиваемый сервис, который можно интегрировать на выбранный сервер.
  • Выбор решения с внутренними сервисами. Для управления удостоверениями и данными игроков, запросами на подбор и другими важными функциями при подключении к внутреннему сервису зачастую используется REST API. Чтобы свести к минимуму объем рабочих операций можно, например, реализовать внутреннюю часть с применением бессерверных технологий или использовать контейнерный подход.
  • Создание возможностей для нагрузочного тестирования и наблюдения, которые обеспечат максимальную прозрачность процессов, которые происходят на игровом сервере. Для этого нужно, в том числе, собирать различные метрики и собирать логи. Эти данные будут полезны для выявления проблем на сервере и поиска точек возможного повышения производительности.

Разработка игровых серверов в AVADA MEDIA

AVADA MEDIA

Разработка игровых серверов в AVADA MEDIA AVADA MEDIA

Сервер обеспечивает геймерам бесперебойный доступ к игровому контенту, поэтому его развертыванию стоит уделить не меньше внимания чем производству самой игры. Команда AVADA MEDIA обладает практическим опытом создания и настройки серверов для игр разного масштаба. Мы обеспечим стабильную работу вашего проекта.

Свежие работы

Создаем космические проекты

Свежие работы

Лучшим подтверждением нашей квалификации и профессионализма являются истории успеха наших клиентов и различия в их бизнесе до и после сотрудничества с нами.

Наши клиенты

Что о нас говорят

Наши клиенты Что о нас говорят

Успешные проекты создаются только командой

Наша команда

Успешные проекты
создаются только командой Наша команда

Photo 11
Photo 10
Photo 9
Photo 8
Photo 7
Photo 6
Photo 5
Photo 4
Photo 3
Photo 2
Photo 1
Photo 12

Свяжитесь с экспертами

Появились вопросы?

Свяжитесь с экспертами Появились вопросы?

+
@
Согласие на обработку персональных данных

Пользователь, оформляя заявку на сайте https://avada-media.ua/ (далее – Сайт), соглашается с условиями настоящего Согласия на обработку персональных данных (далее — Согласие) в соответствии с Законом Украины «Про захист персональних даних». Принятием (акцептом) оферты Согласия является отправка заявки с Сайта или заказ у Оператора по телефонам Сайта.

Пользователь дает свое согласие на обработку своих персональных данных со следующими условиями:

  1. Данное Согласие дается на обработку персональных данных как без, так и с использованием средств автоматизации.
  2. Согласие распространяется на следующую информацию: ФИО, телефон, электронная почта.
  3. Согласие на обработку персональных данных дается в целях предоставления Пользователю ответа на заявку, дальнейшего заключения и выполнения обязательств по договорам, осуществления клиентской поддержки, информирования об услугах, которые, по мнению Оператора, могут представлять интерес для Пользователя, проведения опросов и маркетинговых исследований.
  4. Пользователь, предоставляет Оператору право осуществлять следующие действия (операции) с персональными данными: сбор, запись, систематизация, накопление, хранение, уточнение (обновление, изменение), использование, обезличивание, блокирование, удаление и уничтожение, передача третьим лицам, с согласия субъекта персональных данных и соблюдением мер, обеспечивающих защиту персональных данных от несанкционированного доступа.
  5. Персональные данные обрабатываются Оператором до завершения всех необходимых процедур. Также обработка может быть прекращена по запросу Пользователя на электронную почту: info@avada-media.com.ua
  6. Пользователь подтверждает, что, давая Согласие, он действует свободно, своей волей и в своем интересе.
  7. Настоящее Согласие действует бессрочно до момента прекращения обработки персональных данных по причинам, указанным в п.5 данного документа.

Присоединяйся к нам

Отправить резюме

+
@

Свяжитесь с нами любым удобным для Вас способом:

+ 38 (097) 036 29 32
Файлы cookies
Пожалуйста, разрешите использование cookies для более эффективной работы с сайтом