GameDev

Ways to monetize games

Ways to monetize games

GameDev

Ways to monetize games GameDev

Most games are developed for profit. This can be direct revenue from sales of copies and placement of ad integrations, or indirect revenue, such as in the case of promotional games, whose task is to generate leads that the company can use to increase sales of the main product.

In any case, how exactly the game will generate profit must be determined at the planning stage so that appropriate mechanisms are created during its implementation. In this article, we will talk about the main methods of monetization and how to choose the best strategy for your project.

One-time sale

One-time sale

One-time sale One-time sale

The classic method, which involves providing the user with the full version of the game for a one-time fee. This monetization format is most popular among console projects, such as PlayStation and XBox, as well as in PC games.

In the mobile gaming industry, paid games are not so popular, and account for no more than 10% of the entire market. This is due to the fact that gamers are not ready to pay for a product until they are convinced of its value. In addition, there is a risk of unauthorized copying.

For success in this model, demo versions are used, which give the user the opportunity to fully enjoy the gameplay even before they have to pay money.

It is important that by providing gamers with a paid product, you do not limit the profit to a one-time sale of a copy. Various additions and new levels may be provided to users at an additional cost. For example, many popular projects went this way: Nioh 2, Assassin’s Creed Valhalla and others.

Freemium

Mobile games

Freemium Mobile games

This is the most popular way to monetize mobile games, which is used by about 80% of popular projects, including RAID: Shadow Legends, Call of Duty: Mobile and Shadow Fight 3. Its meaning is that the application and its main functions are distributed completely free of charge, but additional features become available to gamers only after paying for a subscription. For example, it can be special images of characters and equipment, in-game currency, and so on.

The main task of the publisher with this model is to attract the maximum number of players through free basic features, and only then offer them to improve the user experience with donations. At the same time, it is extremely important to strike a balance so that the game remains interesting and exciting, even for those who are not yet ready to invest.

Also, the Freemium model is often used on other platforms, for example, there is a paid pass in the console Fortnite and League of Legends distributed on PC.

In-app purchases

Innovation

In-app purchases Innovation

According to this model, games are also distributed for free, but the bulk of the profits come from in-house purchases. They can be of several types:

  • Giving acceleration. For example, these can be tokens for instant farming levels, increasing the experience of characters, or faster production of resources when it comes to strategy.
  • Gain. Temporarily increase the power of a hero, squad, or in-game state.
  • Protection. Prevent other players from attacking.
  • Social significance. Content that allows gamers to express themselves in the game.

In fact, there can be many varieties of in-game purchases, and it all depends on the gameplay of a particular project. Sometimes even real things can become a product, such as T-shirts, caps and other paraphernalia. In most cases, this model is based on small transactions that are easily accepted by the players, but from the publisher’s point of view, many small sales accumulate into quite significant amounts.

There are also mechanisms to increase in-game sales. For example, some of the paid content can be provided for free, gamers begin to understand its value and are more loyal to further purchases.

In-game advertising

Marketing

In-game advertising Marketing

This is the main monetization strategy for most casual and hyper-casual mobile projects. Its meaning is simple and clear – users see advertising banners of other companies or watch marketing videos, for which the publisher receives payment from the advertiser. In such games, the user can play completely free of charge, but at the same time he has to put up with an annoying factor.

A more attractive variation of this strategy is reward-per-view. That is, when a gamer himself agrees to view an ad insert in order to receive in-game benefits: additional coins, one more attempt to pass the level, etc.

In some projects, players have the opportunity to disable ads in order to fully enjoy the gameplay. However, this service is not provided free of charge, and is part of the publisher’s profit.

How to choose a monetization model

Model of monetization

How to choose a monetization model Model of monetization

A game project can use not one, but several monetization strategies at once, or a combination of them, for example, in-game purchases do not interfere with the use of season passes or the display of advertisements. In most cases, the final choice depends on many factors, including the features of the game, its genre, theme, and the interests of the target audience.

To avoid mistakes, you can try using different monetization formats in test mode in order to make an informed decision based on the feedback of real users.

Where to order game development

AVADA MEDIA

Where to order game development AVADA MEDIA

The global video game market is growing every year, and by the end of 2021 it reached $126.6 billion. At the same time, gamers are a special category of consumers. In most cases, these are socially active people who follow the release of new products, test different mechanics with pleasure and share achievements in social networks. This creates excellent conditions for the promotion of new projects.

Contact AVADA MEDIA and use the experience of our specialists to implement your own profitable project. We will help you create a game of any complexity at all stages – from planning and design to publishing in app markets.

Fresh works

We create space projects

Fresh works

The best confirmation of our qualifications and professionalism are the stories of the success of our clients and the differences in their business before and after working with us.

Our clients

What they say about us

Our clients What they say about us

Successful projects are created only by the team

Our team

Successful projects
are created only by the team Our team

(Ru) Photo 11
(Ru) Photo 10
Photo 9
Photo 8
Photo 7
Photo 6
Photo 5
Photo 4
Photo 3
Photo 2
Photo 1
(Ru) Photo 12

Contact the experts

Have a question?

Contact the experts Have a question?

+
@
I accept User agreement and I give my consent to processing of my personal data
Personal data processing agreement

The user, filling out an application on the website https://avada-media.ua/ (hereinafter referred to as the Site), agrees to the terms of this Consent for the processing of personal data (hereinafter referred to as the Consent) in accordance with the Law of Ukraine “On the collection of personal data”. Acceptance of the offer of the Consent is the sending of an application from the Site or an order from the Operator by telephone of the Site.

The user gives his consent to the processing of his personal data with the following conditions:

1. This Consent is given to the processing of personal data both without and using automation tools.
2. Consent applies to the following information: name, phone, email.

3. Consent to the processing of personal data is given in order to provide the User with an answer to the application, further conclude and fulfill obligations under the contracts, provide customer support, inform about services that, in the opinion of the Operator, may be of interest to the User, conduct surveys and market research.

4. The User grants the Operator the right to carry out the following actions (operations) with personal data: collection, recording, systematization, accumulation, storage, clarification (updating, changing), use, depersonalization, blocking, deletion and destruction, transfer to third parties, with the consent of the subject of personal data and compliance with measures to protect personal data from unauthorized access.

5. Personal data is processed by the Operator until all necessary procedures are completed. Also, processing can be stopped at the request of the User by e-mail: info@avada-media.com.ua

6. The User confirms that by giving Consent, he acts freely, by his will and in his interest.

7. This Consent is valid indefinitely until the termination of the processing of personal data for the reasons specified in clause 5 of this document.

Join Us

Send CV

+
@
I accept User agreement and I give my consent to processing of my personal data
Cookies
Please allow cookies to be more efficient with your site.

Дана версія веб-сайту завантажена за замовчуванням для користувачів в Україні. Якщо ви хочете повернутися на попередню версію веб-сайту натисніть "Повернутись назад", для того щоб залишитися натисніть "Закрити". Натискаючи "Повернутись назад" або "Закрити" ви погоджуєтесь із Політикою використання файлів Cookies

GameDev

Способы монетизации игр

Способы монетизации игр

GameDev

Способы монетизации игр GameDev

Большинство игр разрабатываются с целью получения прибыли. Это может быть прямой доход — от продажи копий и размещения рекламных интеграций, или косвенный, например как в случае с промо-играми, чья задача заключается в привлечении лидов, которые компания сможет может использовать для увеличения продаж основного продукта.

В любом случае, то как именно игра будет генерировать прибыль нужно определить еще на этапе планирования, чтобы в ходе ее реализации были созданы соответствующие механизмы. В этой статье поговорим об основных способах монетизации и про то, как выбрать оптимальную стратегию для своего проекта.

Разовая продажа

One-time sale

Разовая продажа One-time sale

Классический метод, который предполагает предоставление пользователю полной версии игры за единоразовое вознаграждение. Такой формат монетизации наиболее популярен среди консольных проектов, например PlayStation и XBox, а также в играх на PC.

В мобильной игровой индустрии платные игры пользуются не такой высокой популярностью, и составляют не более 10% всего рынка. Это связано с тем, что геймеры не готовы платить за продукт, пока не убедятся в его ценности. К тому же, существует риск несанкционированного копирования.

Для успеха в такой модели используются демо-версии, которые дают пользователю возможность в полной мере насладиться геймплеем еще до того, как придется платить деньги.

Важно, что предоставляя геймерам платный продукт, вы не ограничиваете прибыль разовой продажей копии. Различные дополнения и новые уровни могут предоставляться пользователям за дополнительную стоимость. Например, таким путем пошли многие популярные проекты: Nioh 2, Assassin’s Creed Valhalla и другие.

Freemium

Mobile games

Freemium Mobile games

Это наиболее популярный способ монетизации мобильных игр, который используют порядка 80% популярных проектов, включая RAID: Shadow Legends, Call of Duty: Mobile и Shadow Fight 3. Его смысл в том, что приложение и его основные функции распространяются полностью бесплатно, а вот дополнительные возможности становятся доступны геймерам только после оплаты подписки. Например это могут быть особые образы персонажей и экипировки, внутриигровая валюта и прочее.

Главная задача издателя при такой модели заключается в привлечении максимального количества игроков за счет бесплатных базовых функций, и уже потом предлагать им улучшить пользовательский опыт с помощью донатов. При этом крайне важно соблюдать баланс, чтобы игра оставалась интересной и увлекательной даже для тех, кто пока не готов делать инвестиции.

Также модель Freemium часто используется на других платформах, например платный пропуск есть в консольном Fortnite и League of Legends, распространяемой на PC.

Внутриигровые покупки

Innovation

Внутриигровые покупки Innovation

По такой модели игры также распространяются бесплатно, но основную долю прибыли составляют внутренние покупки. Они могут быть нескольких видов:

  • Дающие ускорение. Например, это могут быть жетоны для мгновенного фарма уровней, повышения опыта персонажей или более быстрого производства ресурсов, если речь идет про стратегию.
  • Усиление. Временно повышают мощь героя, отряда или внутриигрового государства.
  • Защита. Предотвращают нападение других игроков.
  • Социальная значимость. Контент, который позволяет геймерам самовыражаться в игре.

На самом деле разновидностей внутриигровых покупок может быть множество, и все зависит от геймплея конкретного проекта. Иногда товаром могут стать даже реальные вещи, например футболки, кепки и прочая атрибутика. В большинстве случаев такая модель строится на небольших транзакциях, которые спокойно воспринимаются игроками, однако с точки зрения издателя множество небольших продаж аккумулируются во вполне существенные суммы.

Существуют также механизмы для увеличения внутриигровых продаж. Например часть платного контента может предоставляться бесплатно, геймеры начинают понимать его ценность и более лояльно относятся к дальнейшим приобретениям.

Внутриигровая реклама

Marketing

Внутриигровая реклама Marketing

Это основная стратегия монетизации для большинства казуальных и гиперказуальных мобильных проектов. Ее смысл прост и понятен — пользователи видят рекламные баннера других компаний или просматривают маркетинговые видеоролики, за что издатель получает оплату от рекламодателя. В такие игры пользователь может играть полностью бесплатно, но при этом ему приходится мириться с раздражающим фактором.

Более привлекательная разновидность такой стратегии — вознаграждение за просмотр. То есть, когда геймер сам соглашается на просмотр рекламной вставки для получения внутриигровой выгоды: дополнительных монет, еще одной попытки пройти уровень и т.д.

В некоторых проектах у игроков есть возможность отключить показ рекламы, чтобы в полной мере насладиться игровым процессом. Однако, такая услуга предоставляется не бесплатно, и составляет часть прибыли издателя.

Как выбрать модель монетизации

Model of monetization

Как выбрать модель монетизации Model of monetization

Игровой проект может использовать не одну, а сразу несколько стратегий монетизации или их комбинации, например внутриигровые покупки не мешают использованию сезонных пропусков или показу рекламных объявлений. В большинстве случаев, окончательный выбор зависит от множества факторов, включая особенности игры, ее жанр, тематику и интересы целевой аудитории.

Для избежания ошибок можно попробовать использование разных форматов монетизации в тестовом режиме, чтобы на основании фидбека реальных пользователей принять взвешенное решение.

Где заказать разработку игры

AVADA MEDIA

Где заказать разработку игры AVADA MEDIA

Мировой рынок видеоигр ежегодно растет, и по итогам 2021 года достиг $126,6 млрд. При этом геймеры — особая категория потребителей. В большинстве случаев это социально активные люди, которые следят за выходом новинок, с удовольствием тестируют разные механики и делятся достижениями в соцсетях. Это создает прекрасные условия для продвижения новых проектов.

Свяжитесь с AVADA MEDIA, и воспользуйтесь опытом наших специалистов для реализации собственного прибыльного проекта. Мы поможем создать игру любой сложности на всех этапах — от планирования и проектирования, до публикации в маркетах приложений.

Свежие работы

Создаем космические проекты

Свежие работы

Лучшим подтверждением нашей квалификации и профессионализма являются истории успеха наших клиентов и различия в их бизнесе до и после сотрудничества с нами.

Наши клиенты

Что о нас говорят

Наши клиенты Что о нас говорят

Успешные проекты создаются только командой

Наша команда

Успешные проекты
создаются только командой Наша команда

Photo 11
Photo 10
Photo 9
Photo 8
Photo 7
Photo 6
Photo 5
Photo 4
Photo 3
Photo 2
Photo 1
Photo 12

Свяжитесь с экспертами

Появились вопросы?

Свяжитесь с экспертами Появились вопросы?

+
@
Согласие на обработку персональных данных

Пользователь, оформляя заявку на сайте https://avada-media.ua/ (далее – Сайт), соглашается с условиями настоящего Согласия на обработку персональных данных (далее — Согласие) в соответствии с Законом Украины «Про захист персональних даних». Принятием (акцептом) оферты Согласия является отправка заявки с Сайта или заказ у Оператора по телефонам Сайта.

Пользователь дает свое согласие на обработку своих персональных данных со следующими условиями:

  1. Данное Согласие дается на обработку персональных данных как без, так и с использованием средств автоматизации.
  2. Согласие распространяется на следующую информацию: ФИО, телефон, электронная почта.
  3. Согласие на обработку персональных данных дается в целях предоставления Пользователю ответа на заявку, дальнейшего заключения и выполнения обязательств по договорам, осуществления клиентской поддержки, информирования об услугах, которые, по мнению Оператора, могут представлять интерес для Пользователя, проведения опросов и маркетинговых исследований.
  4. Пользователь, предоставляет Оператору право осуществлять следующие действия (операции) с персональными данными: сбор, запись, систематизация, накопление, хранение, уточнение (обновление, изменение), использование, обезличивание, блокирование, удаление и уничтожение, передача третьим лицам, с согласия субъекта персональных данных и соблюдением мер, обеспечивающих защиту персональных данных от несанкционированного доступа.
  5. Персональные данные обрабатываются Оператором до завершения всех необходимых процедур. Также обработка может быть прекращена по запросу Пользователя на электронную почту: info@avada-media.com.ua
  6. Пользователь подтверждает, что, давая Согласие, он действует свободно, своей волей и в своем интересе.
  7. Настоящее Согласие действует бессрочно до момента прекращения обработки персональных данных по причинам, указанным в п.5 данного документа.

Присоединяйся к нам

Отправить резюме

+
@

Свяжитесь с нами любым удобным для Вас способом:

+ 38 (097) 036 29 32
Файлы cookies
Пожалуйста, разрешите использование cookies для более эффективной работы с сайтом