GAME DEVELOPMENT

How to Avoid Mistakes in Game Development

Game Development

GameDev

Game Development GameDev

Game development can take years of hard work and, like any production, it’s not without its challenges. Some of them are due to technical nuances, others – psychological.

But, regardless of their origin, developers need to be able to detect and fix bugs early in order to ensure the high quality of the final product.

In this article, we will look at the 6 most common mistakes, and tell you how to overcome them correctly.

How to Avoid Mistakes in Game Development

Trying to create something perfect

GAME CONCEPT

Trying to create something perfect GAME CONCEPT

When developing a new project, you always want to create something perfect. Sometimes developers spend months looking for the “best concept”, but in the end it can also turn out to be wrong, just like any other. Therefore, it is important to always remain realistic here. Nothing is perfect, and even AAA-level projects also have their drawbacks.

On the other hand, gamers don’t expect the perfect character or perfect gear either. Everything should have its strengths and weaknesses. This creates contrast and makes the gameplay even more fun.

Function overload

AVADA MEDIA

Function overload AVADA MEDIA

Creating a new virtual universe, many developers are trying to fill it with many innovative features and mechanics. At the planning stage, while everything is only on paper, this sounds attractive, but in the end the project can be overloaded and too difficult to understand.

Try to look at the game through the eyes of a gamer who is launching for the first time, appreciate how easy it is for him to understand the details, how pronounced the main storyline is.

Perhaps some mechanics should be abandoned, and start spending valuable resources on creating the main core of the project.

If a large-scale project is being created, the implementation of some mechanics can be done in stages. For example, each new version of the game may contain 2-3 additional features. Thus, using feedback from gamers, you can choose an objective direction for product development.

How to Avoid Mistakes in Game Development

Ill-conceived monetization policy

MONETIZATION

Ill-conceived monetization policy MONETIZATION

Each game project is created for the purpose of making a profit, but improper integration of monetization elements can lead to a negative gaming experience and reduce the popularity of the product. For example, many have had to deal with intrusive ads in mobile games that negate addictive gameplay and alienate loyal users.

The method of monetization and points of integration of advertisements must be thought out in advance in such a way that it matches your financial plans and satisfies the interests of the players.

Loss of gamer interest

GAMING

Loss of gamer interest GAMING

Over time, some players may begin to abandon the project, and developers need to work on keeping them. At the same time, before investing in marketing and engaging in attracting new users, it is important to understand why the old ones leave. There may be several reasons: the presence of bugs, a complex interface, poor level design, low level of gamification.

In addition, players may get bored with the monotony of the gameplay, so the project must constantly evolve. New mechanics, levels, characters and regular seasonal events, a rating system – this is what will help maintain the constant interest of users and make the project “alive”. Therefore, after the release, work on the game should not stop.

Weak and untimely marketing

Marketing

Weak and untimely marketing Marketing

Even the best game will not start to generate income without quality promotion. To make it popular, you do not need to spare money for marketing. If you have a big budget, you can order reviews on major blogs, advertise on social networks, publish articles on gaming portals, etc. This will help create a buzz around the project and will be a good breeding ground for high sales.

Another common mistake is when marketing efforts start after the release. Use the experience of AAA projects that start advertising at the planning stage, and by the time of beta testing they already have an impressive audience ready to immediately purchase the long-awaited game.

Developing your own engine instead of a game

Gaming

Developing your own engine instead of a game Gaming

Some developers want to be revolutionary by coding their own engine from scratch instead of using hundreds of available and often free tools: modules for physics, AI, graphics rendering, debugging, exporting, and more.

You need to understand that game engines are the most complex piece of software involved in game development. Their creation will entail unreasonably high costs and is unlikely to bring something radically new to the game.

Popular engines that you can use in your project:

  • Unity is an integrated development environment that powers more than 50% of all existing mobile games.
  • Unreal Engine – powered by C++ and Blueprints visual scripting. Used by major studios to develop AAA-class games: Mortal Kombat 11, Fortnite, A way out and others.
  • AppGameKit is a powerful set of tools that will help you create a project for almost any platform.
  • Marmalade SDK is a C++ cross-platform game development kit.

It is worth adding that some major studios are even abandoning their own, ready-made engines in favor of these technologies. For example, to create The Witcher 4, CD Projekt RED decided to use Unreal Engine instead of the native REDengine used in the previous part of the project, in order to optimize errors to quickly create a virtual world.

Where to order game development

GameDev

Where to order game development GameDev

Another mistake that we decided to save for last is choosing the wrong development team.

There are three possible solutions: create everything yourself, hire freelancers and independently supervise their work, or order a game from a company that can objectively assess the scale of the project, select the optimal technology stack, form a team of experienced specialists and guarantee the quality of the final result.

 

 

If you need a serious approach, please contact AVADA MEDIA. We know all the subtleties of game development and will create a profitable product.

Fresh works

We create space projects

Fresh works

The best confirmation of our qualifications and professionalism are the stories of the success of our clients and the differences in their business before and after working with us.

Our clients

What they say about us

Our clients What they say about us

Successful projects are created only by the team

Our team

Successful projects
are created only by the team Our team

(Ru) Photo 11
(Ru) Photo 10
Photo 9
Photo 8
Photo 7
Photo 6
Photo 5
Photo 4
Photo 3
Photo 2
Photo 1
(Ru) Photo 12

Contact the experts

Have a question?

Contact the experts Have a question?

+
@
I accept User agreement and I give my consent to processing of my personal data
Personal data processing agreement

The user, filling out an application on the website https://avada-media.ua/ (hereinafter referred to as the Site), agrees to the terms of this Consent for the processing of personal data (hereinafter referred to as the Consent) in accordance with the Law of Ukraine “On the collection of personal data”. Acceptance of the offer of the Consent is the sending of an application from the Site or an order from the Operator by telephone of the Site.

The user gives his consent to the processing of his personal data with the following conditions:

1. This Consent is given to the processing of personal data both without and using automation tools.
2. Consent applies to the following information: name, phone, email.

3. Consent to the processing of personal data is given in order to provide the User with an answer to the application, further conclude and fulfill obligations under the contracts, provide customer support, inform about services that, in the opinion of the Operator, may be of interest to the User, conduct surveys and market research.

4. The User grants the Operator the right to carry out the following actions (operations) with personal data: collection, recording, systematization, accumulation, storage, clarification (updating, changing), use, depersonalization, blocking, deletion and destruction, transfer to third parties, with the consent of the subject of personal data and compliance with measures to protect personal data from unauthorized access.

5. Personal data is processed by the Operator until all necessary procedures are completed. Also, processing can be stopped at the request of the User by e-mail: info@avada-media.com.ua

6. The User confirms that by giving Consent, he acts freely, by his will and in his interest.

7. This Consent is valid indefinitely until the termination of the processing of personal data for the reasons specified in clause 5 of this document.

Join Us

Send CV

+
@
I accept User agreement and I give my consent to processing of my personal data
Cookies
Please allow cookies to be more efficient with your site.

GAME DEVELOPMENT

Как избежать ошибок при разработке игр

Разработка игры

GameDev

Разработка игры GameDev

Разработка игры может растянуться на несколько лет усердной работы и, как в любом производстве, здесь не обходится без своих трудностей. Некоторые из них обусловлены техническими нюансами, другие — психологическим.

Но, независимо от их происхождения, разработчикам нужно уметь обнаружить и устранить ошибки на ранних этапах, чтобы обеспечить высокое качество конечного продукта.

В этой статье рассмотрим 6 наиболее распространенных ошибок, и расскажем как их правильно преодолеть.

Как избежать ошибок при разработке игр

Попытка создать что-то идеальное

GAME CONCEPT

Попытка создать что-то идеальное GAME CONCEPT

При разработке нового проекта, всегда хочется создать нечто идеальное. Иногда на поиски «лучшей концепции» разработчики тратят целые месяцы, но в итоге она тоже может оказаться ошибочной, точно так же, как и любая другая. Поэтому здесь важно всегда оставаться реалистами. Ничего идеального не существует, и даже проекты ААА-уровня тоже имеют свои недостатки.

С другой стороны, геймеры тоже не ждут идеального персонажа или безупречную экипировку. У всего должны быть свои сильные и слабые стороны. Это создает контраст и делает игровой процесс еще более увлекательным.

Перегрузка функционала

AVADA MEDIA

Перегрузка функционала AVADA MEDIA

Создавая новую виртуальную вселенную, многие разработчики пытаются ее наполнить множеством инновационных функций и механик. На этапе планирования, пока все только на бумаге, это звучит привлекательно, но в итоге проект может оказаться перегруженным и слишком сложным для понимания.

Попробуйте взглянуть на игру глазами геймера, который впервые выполняет запуск, оцените насколько ему легко разобраться в деталях, насколько ярко выражена основная сюжетная линия.

Возможно от некоторых механик стоит отказаться, и начать тратить ценные ресурсы на создание основного ядра проекта.

Если создается масштабный проект, внедрение некоторых механик можно сделать поэтапным. Например, каждая новая версия игры может содержать 2-3 дополнительных функции. Таким образом, используя обратную связь от геймеров можно выбрать объективное направление развития продукта.

Как избежать ошибок при разработке игр

Непродуманная политика монетизации

MONETIZATION

Непродуманная политика монетизации MONETIZATION

Каждый игровой проект создается с целью получения прибыли, но неправильная интеграция элементов монетизации может стать причиной негативного игрового опыта и снизить популярность продукта. Например, многим приходилось сталкиваться с назойливой рекламой в мобильных играх, которая сводит на нет увлекательный геймплей и отталкивает лояльных пользователей.

Способ монетизации и точки интеграции рекламных объявлений нужно продумать заранее таким образом, чтобы он соответствовал вашим финансовым планам и удовлетворял интересы игроков.

Потеря интереса геймеров

GAMING

Потеря интереса геймеров GAMING

Со временем часть игроков может начать отказываться от проекта, и разработчикам нужно работать над их удержанием. При этом, прежде инвестировать в маркетинг и заниматься привлечением новых пользователей, важно разобраться почему уходят старые. Причин может быть несколько: присутствие багов, сложный интерфейс, плохой левел-дизайн, низкий уровень геймификации.

Кроме того, игрокам может наскучить однообразие геймплея, поэтому проект должен постоянно развиваться. Новые механики, уровни, персонажи и регулярные сезонные события, система рейтингов — это то, что поможет поддерживать постоянный интерес пользователей и сделает проект «живым». Поэтому после релиза работа над игрой не должна останавливаться.

Слабый и несвоевременный маркетинг

Marketing

Слабый и несвоевременный маркетинг Marketing

Даже самая лучшая игра не начнет приносить доход без качественного продвижения. Чтобы она стала популярной не нужно жалеть средств на маркетинг. Обладая большим бюджетом вы сможете заказывать обзоры в крупных блогах, рекламу в социальных сетях, публиковать статьи на игровых порталах т.д. Это поможет создать ажиотаж вокруг проекта и станет хорошей почвой для высоких продаж.

Еще одна популярная ошибка, когда маркетинговые усилия начинают прилагаться уже после релиза. Используйте опыт ААА-проектов, которые начинают рекламироваться еще на стадии планирования, и к моменту бета-тестирования уже обладают внушительной аудиторией, готовой к немедленному приобретению долгожданной игры.

Разработка собственного движка вместо игры

Gaming

Разработка собственного движка вместо игры Gaming

Некоторые разработчики хотят стать революционерами, с нуля кодируя собственный движок вместо того чтобы использовать сотни доступных, и зачастую бесплатных инструментов: модули для физики, ИИ, рендеринга графики, отладки, экспорта и много другого.

Нужно понимать, что игровые движки являются самой сложной частью ПО, задействованного в геймдеве. Их создание повлечет неоправданно высокие затраты и вряд-ли принесет в игру что-то кардинально новое.

Популярные движки которые можно использовать в своем проекте:

  • Unity — интегрированная среда разработки, на которой работают более 50% всех существующих мобильных игр.
  • Unreal Engine — работает на основе C++ и визуальных сценариев Blueprints. Используется крупнейшими студиями для разработки игр ААА-класса: Mortal Kombat 11, Fortnite, A way out и других.
  • AppGameKit — мощный набор инструментов, который поможет создать проект практически для любой платформы.
  • Marmalade SDK — набор средств для создания кроссплатформенных игр, работающий на языке C++.

Стоит добавить, что некоторые крупные студии даже отказываются от собственных, уже готовых движков, в пользу этих технологий. Например, для создания The Witcher 4 студия CD Projekt RED решила использовать Unreal Engine вместо родного REDengine, использовавшегося в предыдущей части проекта, чтобы оптимизировать ошибки быстрее создать виртуальный мир.

Где заказать разработку игры

GameDev

Где заказать разработку игры GameDev

Еще одна ошибка, которую мы решили оставить напоследок — выбор неподходящей команды разработки.

Есть три возможных решения: создавать все самому, нанять фрилансеров и самостоятельно контролировать их работу, или заказать игру в компании, которая сможет объективно оценить масштаб проекта, подобрать оптимальный стек технологий, сформирует команду опытных специалистов и гарантирует качество финального результата.

 

 

Если вам нужен серьезный подход — обращайтесь в AVADA MEDIA. Мы знаем все тонкости геймдева и создадим прибыльный продукт.

Свежие работы

Создаем космические проекты

Свежие работы

Лучшим подтверждением нашей квалификации и профессионализма являются истории успеха наших клиентов и различия в их бизнесе до и после сотрудничества с нами.

Наши клиенты

Что о нас говорят

Наши клиенты Что о нас говорят

Успешные проекты создаются только командой

Наша команда

Успешные проекты
создаются только командой Наша команда

Photo 11
Photo 10
Photo 9
Photo 8
Photo 7
Photo 6
Photo 5
Photo 4
Photo 3
Photo 2
Photo 1
Photo 12

Свяжитесь с экспертами

Появились вопросы?

Свяжитесь с экспертами Появились вопросы?

+
@
Согласие на обработку персональных данных

Пользователь, оформляя заявку на сайте https://avada-media.ua/ (далее – Сайт), соглашается с условиями настоящего Согласия на обработку персональных данных (далее — Согласие) в соответствии с Законом Украины «Про захист персональних даних». Принятием (акцептом) оферты Согласия является отправка заявки с Сайта или заказ у Оператора по телефонам Сайта.

Пользователь дает свое согласие на обработку своих персональных данных со следующими условиями:

  1. Данное Согласие дается на обработку персональных данных как без, так и с использованием средств автоматизации.
  2. Согласие распространяется на следующую информацию: ФИО, телефон, электронная почта.
  3. Согласие на обработку персональных данных дается в целях предоставления Пользователю ответа на заявку, дальнейшего заключения и выполнения обязательств по договорам, осуществления клиентской поддержки, информирования об услугах, которые, по мнению Оператора, могут представлять интерес для Пользователя, проведения опросов и маркетинговых исследований.
  4. Пользователь, предоставляет Оператору право осуществлять следующие действия (операции) с персональными данными: сбор, запись, систематизация, накопление, хранение, уточнение (обновление, изменение), использование, обезличивание, блокирование, удаление и уничтожение, передача третьим лицам, с согласия субъекта персональных данных и соблюдением мер, обеспечивающих защиту персональных данных от несанкционированного доступа.
  5. Персональные данные обрабатываются Оператором до завершения всех необходимых процедур. Также обработка может быть прекращена по запросу Пользователя на электронную почту: info@avada-media.com.ua
  6. Пользователь подтверждает, что, давая Согласие, он действует свободно, своей волей и в своем интересе.
  7. Настоящее Согласие действует бессрочно до момента прекращения обработки персональных данных по причинам, указанным в п.5 данного документа.

Присоединяйся к нам

Отправить резюме

+
@

Свяжитесь с нами любым удобным для Вас способом:

+ 38 (097) 036 29 32
Файлы cookies
Пожалуйста, разрешите использование cookies для более эффективной работы с сайтом